“Our children are our number one priority, and the Senate’s vote today is a significant step toward providing our schools with the tools needed to be flexible and adapt quickly throughout the school year. The complex and diverse needs of our students are ever-changing, and the Legislature’s recognition of the need to establish reserve funds will ensure our schools can continue providing the highest quality education and support services to our children and their families. We appreciate Senator Mannion’s leadership in sponsoring this legislation and his continued advocacy of our 4201 Schools.”

Dr. Bernadette Kappen is Co-Chair of the 4201 Schools Association, and Executive Director of the New York Institute for Special Education in the Bronx.

Mr. Timothy Kelly is Co-Chair of the 4201 Schools Association, and Superintendent of St. Mary’s School for the Deaf in Buffalo.

The 4201 Schools Association represents 10 schools serving children who are blind, deaf, and severely physically disabled. The schools are located in Erie, Monroe, Westchester, Bronx, Kings, Queens, Nassau, and Suffolk counties. The schools support nearly 1,500 students from across New York and are nationally recognized for their expertise and achievement. Follow us on Twitter, @4201Schools and Facebook, @4201SchoolsAssociation.