St MarySt. Mary’s School for the Deaf Officially Accredited by CEASD
Accreditation demonstrates continuous commitment to school improvement

The Conference of Education Administrators of Schools and Programs for the Deaf (CEASD), a national authority in educational services, has bestowed upon St. Mary’s School for the Deaf a designation for Full Accreditation. The five year accreditation from CEASD showcases SMSD’s programming and curriculum and provides independent validation of the school’s commitment to its students, staff, and other contributors.

Last month at CEASD’s Annual Conference at the Arizona School for the Deaf and Blind, SMSD’s Superintendent Timothy Kelly received the certificate for Accreditation alongside three other schools’ representatives. Kelly is extremely proud of this recognition and expresses gratitude to all of SMSD’s stakeholders and community partners; “This is a proud day for all of our staff and school community, and will be forever remembered in our history. We believe in the dedication and talents of our staff and students,” said Kelly.

Upon initial recommendation for Full Accreditation in fall of 2012, CEASD Executive Director Joseph Finnegan pointed to the benefits that SMSD would reap from the Accreditation process:

“The commitment of the Board of Trustees, Superintendent, and the entire SMSD community to the rigorous accreditation process, and the completion of a thorough self-assessment, will guide the school’s improvement activities over the next five years,” said Finnegan.

Of the 71 member schools of CEASD, SMSD is now one of 22 to have earned Accreditation. SMSD is committed to maintaining their Accreditation as means of continuous improvement.


St. Mary’s School for the Deaf is located in Buffalo, Erie County, NY and was founded in 1853. The school is a member of the 4201 Schools Association.

Other 4201 member schools include: Rochester School for the Deaf (Monroe County), New York School for the Deaf (Westchester County), Henry Viscardi School (Nassau County), Mill Neck Manor School for the Deaf (Nassau County), Cleary School for the Deaf (Suffolk County), and the following schools located in the City of New York: Lavelle School for the Blind, The New York Institute for Special Education, Lexington School for the Deaf, St. Francis de Sales School for the Deaf, St. Joseph’s School for the Deaf.